Courage is a heart word.

I’ve recently started an art journaling course with Brené Brown, author of Daring Greatly and The Gifts of Imperfection – both of which I highly recommend. I’ve never considered myself an artistic person, so this is definitely stepping outside of my comfort zone, something that I am striving to do lately.

During the first week we explored the concepts of courage, connection and compassion and the idea that you are enough, just the way you are. We got our artsy minds and hearts on and made three creative beauties which I’ve shared with you here. I encourage you to give them a try. Being able to set aside a couple of hours to work through these was a really exciting and empowering experience for me.

1. I give myself permission to… Here we had the opportunity to begin our journaling process by giving ourself permission to be or do whatever we needed or desired. It’s a really important exercise not only for journaling, or creativity, but for living life to the fullest every day. All of the words I wrote down don’t apply only to my journal, but apply to every other aspect of my life. It felt so good to write it out. “I give myself permission to be vulnerable, imperfect and honest!” It’s so liberating. Try it out. What do you give yourself permission to do? If you could be anybody who would you be? Release your inhibitions and fly. Release your fears and soar. 

photo (1)

2. I’m imperfect and I’m enough… We might be seeing a fair amount of this picture. I’m so glad I took it. I’m so glad I have it. I love it. I love everything it says about me. I rarely take what I consider to be a good ‘selfie’, so of course I took several. I went through them all, and realized the first one was the best. And it was like a sign from the Universe. Of course the first one was the best! Because in life there are no re-takes. And what we throw out there the first time can always be the best we’ve got. It may be imperfect, but it will always be enough.

imperfect

3. Courage is a heart word… The idea was to create a safe place to write down the names of everyone in your life whose opinion really matters to you, when it comes down to it. When you dig really deep down and let go of all the critics and judgments we battle on a daily basis, who is really there for you in a meaningful way even during your deepest, darkest hours? Those who can hold you when you weep and laugh hysterically when you are in joy are the only ones whose opinion should really matter. Your list will be very short. Mine was. But that’s okay.  It’s a really grounding experience to recognize whose opinion really matters to you and realize that you don’t need to seek approval from everyone.

photo

In closing, I’d like to give a shout out to courage, compassion, and connection – my new best friends. Brené says, “Courage originally meant “To speak one’s mind by telling all one’s heart.”… Ordinary courage is about putting our vulnerability on the line.” Today I give myself permission to be vulnerable, to be courageous. Today I know that I am enough. I dare you to do the same.

You may be imperfect. But you are most certainly enough.

Leave a Reply

