TGIF.

Thank God It’s Friday? Nope. Truth Gratitude Inspiration & Faith.

This is based on an exercise by Brene Brown (hero!). Every Friday she used to write a TGIF blog post in which she would outline what she’s trusting in, what she’s grateful for, what she’s inspired by and how she’s practicing faith. I’ve modified this a bit by changing the “trusting in” portion to “what’s true for me”. But starting next Friday, I’m going to try and introduce this new practice and I encourage you to give it a shot too.

Here’s a sample of what I mean by these four areas.

What’s True for me:

I know that the thoughts I cloud my mind with, and the stories I tell myself, the interpretations and assumptions I make, and the expectations I have are not real. I know that beyond that, if I can get past that, there is an inner voice, a connection with spirit, or God, or love. And that is what is true. That layer beyond.

I feel it in many ways. Sometimes it’s a strong pull by my intuition. Sometimes it’s a quiet reminder of what is real. Sometimes it’s a deep wave of energy flowing through me, a connection with something greater than myself. I can literally feel it coursing through my body. In those moments, I can set aside my ‘monkey mind’ and reach out to what is real. It is that deep, calm, unstirred ocean hiding beneath the rippling, tumultuous surface that is true for me.

What I’m Grateful for:

I am grateful for the relationships I am building in my organizing work. They are deep, and meaningful, and I am learning so much from the people around me. I am so grateful for the knowledge that is being shared and for the strength and support I receive from the people around me, even those I do not know very well.

I am grateful for the feeling of rain drops landing on my face as I run through the city streets at night. I am grateful for the music beating in my ears and for the pounding of my feet on the ground. I am grateful for the strength in my body to continue to put one foot in front of the other. I am grateful for the strain and the ache and the sound of my beating heart because it reminds me that I am alive.

What Inspires Me:

I am always so inspired by the people around me who are so committed to the work that they do. Whether their contributions to the world and community are big or small, I am constantly driven to rejoice at the beauty of dedication and passion. Every time someone else feels empowered or excited to dive into something new, and I am privileged enough to witness that, something lights up inside of me. I am inspired by your passion, whatever it is for. Let it shine; in doing so, you’ll light others up too.

How I’m practicing my Faith:

Every morning I get up and say a little prayer from A Course In Miracles, “Where will you have me go? What will you have me do? What will you have me say? And to whom?” I love this simple request for guidance. Usually I will follow this prayer with a meditation to allow whatever comes to come and set a strong, open, willing, accepting intention for the day.

TGIF. (Actually, it’s Saturday. But better late than never!)

Leave a Reply

